Facebook Explosion!

From where I sit it appears that Facebook has reached critical mass in the last two months.  Not only are there more people from various points in my life coming online, but they are using more of the Facebook gadgets, something I absolutely did not foresee.  That, in turn, has me using the gadgets, and my wife, too.  For the first time last week Facebook started to feel like something more to me than just a portal to go play games on; there’s an actual conversation happening there.  It’s in very small pieces, and in some cases it’s just photos or a link or whatever, but there’s no question that it’s there.

Friend of Pipeline CC recently posted a review of two particular airlines there, the kind of thing that I ordinarily would have associated with a blog post.  Buy why not put that on Facebook, as he did?  More people will likely read it there, and it will be the people (in theory) who you most want to talk to anyway.  Targeted blogging, let’s say.  I can certainly see some advantages.  For one thing, there is site consolidation.  Maybe I don’t have to deal with WordPress and can just do Facebook, although WordPress is no problem to use.

But…there needs to be a Pipeline.  Facebook pages all look the same to me.  I like that blogs, even via a template like WordPress, take on their own character.  Also, I sometimes publish questionable material (quality and/or taste) that on Pipeline I can at least pretend has a certain anonymity to it.  I don’t think I could do that on Facebook if that was my sole outlet.

I’m told that I could do the same with Twitter, if I were a part of that deal, which so far I am not.  This may not be a fair characterization because I’m not familiar with Twitter, but I’m striving for longer-form content of decent quality, not shorter form status and spur-of-the-moment pith.  Reading people’s Facebook statuses, it’s clear many people can come up with a daily clever saying of 50 characters or less.  But how many people can take that same simple concept, stretch it out to 1200 words, add an average of 20 extraneous commas per post, and call it a blog?

One, at least.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Facebook Explosion!

  1. Paul says:

    I actually started a blog, twice, but quit bc facebook served the same purpose, given what I intended to use the blog for.

  2. Mike says:

    I feel like the last person on Earth, not having joined Facebook. Like getting plumbing in 1979

  3. Nathan D says:

    Twitter and Facebook and a Blog are not mutually exclusive, of course — they each fulfill different purposes.

  4. pipelineblog says:

    Well, I’ve seen the Twitter tutorial video, and it pretty much is what I thought it was. What can I say? I like all of you, but I’m not looking to know what everyone is doing in the space of time between our emails, blog posts, facebook updates and phone conversations, and I’m pretty sure that works both ways.

    This could be something I do a 180 on down the road, but honestly, right now I just don’t get it…and I’m one of the most verbose, frequently online people I know.

  5. kelly says:

    Kelly is reading your blog.

  6. Doug is reading Kelly’s note about Kelly reading Doug’s blog. Now Doug is chewing some granola. Chew, chew, chew. Swallow. Drink of water.

  7. Pingback: 2010 in review | Pipeline

  8. bünyamin says:

    şifreyi onutummm yardım edin

Leave a Reply

