Shack Nasty

This weekend was the Shack Nasty party, an event designed to rid folks of the winter doldrums by having everyone dress up in costumes and drink heavily at a nice venue. This year we were at the Varsity Theater, and the theme was the Academy Awards.

It’s always a bit of a trial for Jane and I to come up with costumes for this event. Two years ago the theme was something to do with oceans; I was a pirate, and Jane was pirate booty. Last year I wasn’t able to make it, but Jane and her friends Rhonda and Debbie dressed up as ZZ Top for the music theme. I deeply regret not making it to that party, as my Alice Cooper getup would have certainly won a prize of some sort.

This year I was all set to be Gandhi, primarily because I have the hair for the job. But that left Jane adrift and on her own. Also, it was cold and I didn’t want to wear a sheet all night long. Jane had rejected my idea of Bonnie and Clyde, which is too bad due to my ancestral connection to that pilfering pair. (Their famous Death Car was stolen from my great, great, great uncle in Topeka or some shit like that.)

Ultimately, we settled on runners from Chariots of Fire. I’m not sure why this happened, but it was easy enough to put together, especially if you’re crafty like Jane. The main drawback to the choice was the inability to get Vangelis out of our heads up until…well, up until this very moment, at least. Go YouTube that video, though. It rules. Vangelis is so suave.

We went with Pipeline People BradT and KatyH. Brad went as Rocky Balboa, and he was as fine a Rocky as I’ve seen this side of Stallone. Katy went as the girl from Juno. (Is her name actually Juno?) And I have to say, out of the many Junos there, she was the best one. Alas, none of us won any kind of costume prize, although Catwoman did. Can you guess why?

Meow!

That’s Rocky Balboa to Catwoman’s right, with the expertly-taped hands.  As fate would have it, taking this photo is really the last conscious memory I have of the evening.  A toxic mix of various drinks and an empty stomach led to some sort of an event involving a cab driver having to use industrial disinfectant on the side of his ride.  Or so I am told.  Next thing I knew I woke up in my bed a half hour before my regular Sunday morning basketball game, which, needless to say I did not participate in.

But, it was a great time nonetheless.  Here’s Jane doing the Chariots of Fire dance with somebody who’s either one of the waiters or Marcel Marceau.

100_0328.jpg

And here’s me, Rocky and Juno.  And yes, Vangelis was in my head at that very moment.

100_0326.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Shack Nasty

  1. Jim says:

    I’ve got to get to that party. That last picture convinces me of that.

  2. Jim says:

    Though, personally, I probably would have gone to the party as Linda Blair. Were there a lot of Daniel Day-Lewises screaming “I DRINK YOUR MILKSHAKE!” or what?

  3. Doug Hennessee says:

    There were no obvious DDL’s running around, though it was hard to tell who many people actually were. Which, to my mind, makes for a bad costume.

    I actually suggested Linda Blair as an option at one point for Jane, as well as Carrie, but it never went anywhere. As it turned out, I could have gone very method as Linda Blair with all the vomiting that ultimately happened.

  4. Charley says:

    what’s the crap all over Brad’s clothes? Is it raw egg, or did you puke on him?

  5. david says:

    I was thinking Brad must be the “post-meat locker workout” Rocky, given the appearance of his clothes, but I suppose it could be raw eggs. Too bad Katy didn’t go as Adrian… or Apollo.

  6. Doug Hennessee says:

    I’m not sure what’s all over Brad’s clothes, but I didn’t have anything to do with it. Katy and I were lobbying for Brad to go as the civilian Rocky, with his leather blazer and goofy fedora. Katy was going to go as Adrian, but couldn’t find the right glasses. The beer-guzzling Juno probably ended up being a better choice.

  7. Brad Thompson says:

    Rocky’s sweats are filthy in the movie. Yes, I went for the meat locker look and nailed it. What you can’t see in the picture are my Chuck Taylors.

    –Brad

  8. brien hays says:

    Wow, is that cans of Newcastle? Newcastle in cans? You guys have everything in Minnesota!

    And Brad, the Chuck Taylor’s are an awesome touch.

  9. pipelineblog says:

    Cans and cans of Newcastle. Then the Heineken keg cans. Then, as Mike Tyson would say…Bolivian.

  10. Pingback: 2010 in review | Pipeline

Leave a Reply

