Evel Knievel

Evel Knievel has died.  If I had to make a list of the 10 coolest icons of my childhood, he’d be somewhere on it.  I had the Evel Knievel toy motorcycle set.  It was even more indestructible than Evel Knievel himself.  Great biography.  He may be the only person portrayed by both George Hamilton and Sam Elliott.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Evel Knievel

  1. brent says:

    i seem to recall that i had a motorcycle set included a starting house. there was a handle on the side of the starting house that revved the back wheel of the motorcycle. after the a while the contraption stopped working, so you had to rev the motorcycle by pushing it along the ground to get the back wheel going.

    my version of evel died while jumping the remains of a cut out tree stump. the acid they used to disolve the tree stump discolored evel’s flowing white costume, and my mom made me throw the toy away.

  2. Scotch says:

    I had the toy too. You remember how often you’d scuff your knuckles on the ground winding that thing up?

    My big question is wondering what they’re going to do with his ashes. They’ve got to shoot them over Snake River Canyon or have his kid dump them over twenty flaming buses or something.

  3. Jane spent an unusual amount of time last night watching Evel Kneivel highlights on YouTube. Although, I suppose it’s crass to call a crash where he breaks his pelvis, ribs, wrists, ankles and suffers a concussion that puts him in a coma for 29 days a “highlight”. But, he was a daredevil. If he never crashed, people wouldn’t have cared at all.

    My Evel toy was perfect. It was freaking fast and was durable. And, even after it crashed the wheel would still keep turning, just like Evel’s crash in Portland in 1973 when his bike landed on him and stayed full throttle.

    Obviously, jumping 14 Greyhound buses on a motorcycle going 90 mph is a questionable decision. But the dude did that, and other versions of the same stunt, many times over. The sheer audacity of it boggles the mind; kids today probably wouldn’t believe that it happened had it not been captured on tape. But where are the daredevils of today? Why did Daredevil Worship reach it’s height in the early and mid-1970’s? It’s almost like the Apollo program; today it barely seems like such a thing could have happened.

  4. Charley says:

    I had the toy as well. I remember the excitement as you listened to it rev louder and louder. I also remember tearing/burning the crap out of my hands with that thing. Ah, my first dangerous toy.

  5. Steve says:

    I think all boys our age had the whole Evel set up. I still remember being bummed out when he crapped the Snake River jump.

Leave a Reply

