Arcade Fire and LCD Soundsystem

I saw Arcade Fire and LCD Soundsystem last Sunday night, with Friends of Pipeline KariC and VictoriaL.  It was a fun night, as we all got our Rock Star on and felt old as we began to rationalize the benefits of having a seat instead of having to fight for a spot on the floor.   Actually I was already a convert to Life in the Seats, but it was a new thing for them.  They’ll get used to it, especially if any of us follow through on the Live Music Club we talked about forming, wherein people sometimes get together and see live music.  It could happen.

Hear me now and believe me later, Arcade Fire is going to rule the world in a U2, R.E.M kind of way.  I think they’re that good, and have that much charisma and range.  Their two albums are amazing, and all the material plays very well live.  I was only lukewarm on their second record, Neon Bible, but now that I’ve seen the live show the songs have so much more definition.  I’ve listened to it twice since the show and don’t understand how it didn’t grab me sooner.  For serious fans or the otherwise unoccupied, there’s an outstanding 15-minute video of the band doing a couple of songs in settings that are difficult to describe at this website.

LCD Soundsystem was outstanding too, but unfortunately we spent a little too much time getting our Rock Star on before the show and only saw the final two songs of their set.  First show in history that, when the ticket says 7:00, actually means the music starts at 7:00.  We were all bummed about that, but at least we heard some of them, and the Arcade Fire made it impossible to feel bad for too long.  I hoped I hadn’t missed a transcendental performance or anything.  Reading this review didn’t exactly cheer my spirits.  I guess the good news is they’ll probably be back.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arcade Fire and LCD Soundsystem

  1. Clint says:

    Concerts are-a-changing. We went to go see Velvet Revolver last weekend. The opening act was a great little band (with a start from El Paso of all places) called Sparta. Start time was 7:00 p.m. We got there around 6:50 p.m. and they were already on stage! Sucks for me because I was psyched to see them. Alice in Chains and Velvet Revolver then came on timely, and the show ended promptly at 11:00 p.m. No encores. I have lost count of the number of shows I have gone to now, in a row, where the headlining band doesn’t do encores. Honestely, it may have a lot to do with the venues as some places have to conclude their shows by a specific time due to city ordinances.

    On a related but somewhat different note, go see Velvet Revolver. Best touring band I have had the pleasure of seeing, repeatedly, for the past few years. Hands down. Not only can they play their own shit, they pull deeply from the catalogues of both GnR and STP. Really a tremendous show if you get a chance.

  2. For some reason Scott’s music comment ended up on the candidate picker post, but I’ll respond here.

    Much of that 2007 Coachella show is on YouTube in various parts. But seriously, if you’re a fan of the band, go see that Vincent Moon film I linked to. It’s an outstanding little piece of impromptu filmmaking, and shows a band that’s game to try something new, always a good sign.

  3. kelly says:

    So glad to hear of your Arcade Fire turnaround. I hope they have the staying power, cause they do put on a mean show. Interesting to watch and appear to love what they are doing. Canadians may end up owning the live Rock genre (IMO).

    I’m now firmly in the sit and watch crowd; and I wish major venues had a bunch of cocktail servers around too.

  4. notchris says:

    sign me up for the club!

Leave a Reply

