eMusic

Friend of Pipeline ScottJ recently recommended eMusic in one of the Pipeline comment threads, and I would like to second that recommendation. Here is a great summary of the service and it’s relative strengths and weaknesses. In particular, I have found there are a large variety of free tracks and compilations available, many of which are outstanding.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to eMusic

  1. pipelineblog says:

    In doing some searching on eMusic just now, I discovered they have an extensive collection of comedy albums, people like George Carlin, Lenny Bruce, Johnny Carson, Redd Foxx, etc. Didn’t expect to see that, and that’s probably going to comprise a lot of my downloads.

  2. notchris says:

    do you lose your music if you let your subscription lapse ala rhapsody?

  3. No, you don’t. Yours forever, free to share and share alike.

  4. Dave R says:

    Doug,

    Any theories as to why your new-found greek fan club is so hyped about your old-ass post re: the 1st pipeline mix CD?

    Just curious….

  5. Scotch says:

    While eMusic isn’t perfect (big selection, but not iTunes big), it’s pretty cool and has a ton of smaller labels. I’m finding a ton of sweet old greasy funk albums. Like Doug just found out, I was amazed at the amount of free tracks you could find as well. And, yes, you keep your tracks forever, all DRM-free.

    Oh, and if anyone signs up for the service and wants to mention my name (scottjorg@excite.com) as ‘how you heard about us’ I wouldn’t mind receiving the free tracks they’ll send my way. I’ll make a Late Summer Mix of everyone’s faves over at Base Camp. With Pipeline’s permission of course.

  6. Q says:

    I’ve been a member of emusic since this post. I have to admit, I really liked it at first. Interesting selections and fairly cheap prices. HOWEVER, i can report that I’ve been double charged twice. If you try and cancel your membership, you will lose any unused tracks purchases available. I called emusic and they wouldn’t let me talk to anyone with any power to do anything beyond “collect information” to share with people who can make things happen. I’m done with emusic. Selection isn’t quite what I need. For some, I’m sure its perfect. sorry to rant, but just got off the phone and they were horrible.

  7. pipelineblog says:

    Mea culpa; I should have updated my eMusic post. I’m sorry for your billing snafus, which I didn’t experience, but I also left the eMusic service about four months ago. Once I burned through my initial few months, I had everything I wanted from their collection, and was increasingly spending downloads on reaches. Don’t get me wrong, I got a lot of nice stuff there for what I feel was a very good price, 33 cents a track. But they just weren’t keeping up with what I wanted to hear.

    Sorry to hear you had bad customer service, though. That sucks.

  8. q says:

    I’m over it at this point. Needed to vent and I told the rep on the phone that I would dirty their name in public, so consider that done eMusic. Anyway, my experience was similar. I nabbed some great stuff early, but then hit the limits and started to reach. Then I’d hold off and just pay monthly fee and accumulate song credits. For my dough, right now, I’m into the napster/rhapsody subscription services cause it works with my listening style.

    your (reply)comment is appreciated. I like that these posts have a shelf life. 🙂

  9. Nathan D says:

    They are forever dirty to me, q.

Leave a Reply

