June Swoon

My apologies for Pipeline’s lackluster performance the last two weeks.  It’s been  busy couple of weeks around here, and I’m sure the same is true wherever you might be as well.  Summers get crazy when there’s such a premium on getting outside in warmth, and so much summer daylight to do it in.

The Pipeline Summer07 Mix is complete.  It is as follows:

  1. Combat Baby, by Metric
  2. Born to a Family, by The Go-Betweens
  3. Mystery and Misery, by Rainer Maria
  4. Fidelity, by Regina Spektor
  5. Typical, by Mute Math
  6. Young Folk, by Peter, Bjorn and John
  7. Impossible Germany, by Wilco
  8. Blackheart Man, by Bunny Wailer
  9. Is She Really Going Out with Him?, by Joe Jackson
  10. Think I’m In Love, by Beck
  11. Outfit, by Drive-By Truckers
  12. Australia, by The Shins
  13. Henrietta, by The Fratellis
  14. First of May, by Jonathan Coulton
  15. My Girl, by Hoodoo Gurus
  16. Satellite, by Guster
  17. Wake Up, by Arcade Fire
  18. Sweet Emotion, by Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon
  19. Work It Out, by The Glands
  20. Magic Trick, by M. Ward

I’m having trouble publishing the mix to iTunes at this particular moment, but I expect it to be there in the next 24 hours under the name “Pipeline Summer07 Mix”.  Hope you enjoy it.

Personally, I think it’s quite good.  There’s not a bad song on the list, but my current favorites are the songs by Wilco and Drive-By Truckers.  And I have to admit that Peter, Bjorn and John song makes me wish I were a better whistler.  Me, and everyone standing around me.

I ended up adding three songs to complete the list.  I felt bad about that whole deal, for a number of reasons.  First, it made me feel silly for suggesting 20 songs and not getting there, which made me think maybe next time I’d just do an EP.  Second, I opted to fill the spots myself instead of taking perfectly good suggestions from Pipeline People and my children.  I did this for reasons that seemed legitimate on a small scale, but taken together in hindsight don’t appear now to hold much water at all.  But, what’s done is done.  I’ve been pushing Metric and the Glands on every person I can, a practice I will now officially put to rest.  And the Joe Jackson song is one of my all-time favorites; it belongs here specifically because it reminds me of summer, 1979.

Hope everyone is having a good summer so far.  Mine has been great, invigorated by time with family, friends, new music and new ways to listen to it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to June Swoon

  1. I took the liberty of creating a Pandora station based on the Summer ’07 mix:

    http://www.pandora.com/?sc=sh226109184658174082

  2. Steim says:

    The Joe Jackson song is fantastic, one of my favorites.

  3. martha says:

    I’ve been meaning to tell you that I love the Metric song that was on the Memorial Day disc you gave me (Wet Blanket). So, I’m looking forward to downloading Combat Baby. I should really just download that whole album…

  4. kelly says:

    I’ve been enjoying your Glands today. Want more of the same, but can’t seem to search out your iTunes “pipeline summer07 mix”; then again I’ve never downloaded anything from itunes until today. Any ‘how-to’s’ much appreciated. So far a shitload of commercial references in my searches, but I want the underground Pipeline mix baby!

  5. notchris says:

    nathan, great idea! listening now…..

  6. Stanton says:

    FYI, I heard “Is she really going out with him?” on the radio on the way to work yesterday. Hope you have a station as good as http://www.knrk.com/ in the twin cities.

Leave a Reply

