It’s On

Spur of the moment on a frantic Saturday afternoon while trying to get out of town to the cabin for the first lake action of the summer, I have decided it’s on for the Pipeline People Summer07 Mix.  We’ll do it pretty much the same way Pipeline People Mix 1.0 went down.  This time, I’ll take the first 19 selections, then I’ll do the last song and sequence them.

Here’s how the last one turned out.  I’ve talked to several Pipeline People who found their way to good new stuff via the initial mix.

Jane will get the ball rolling with “Magic Trick”, from M. Ward’s Post-War release.

Summer’s here today, and it requires the soundtrack we will now build.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to It’s On

  1. Sean says:

    “My Girl,” by the Hoodoo Gurus.

  2. martha says:

    Born to a Family by The Go-Betweens.

    I now own three or four albums that I bought based on Pipeline People 1.0, so I have high hopes for the Summer 07 mix.

  3. “Mystery and Misery” by Rainer Maria

  4. Steim says:

    “Henrietta” by The Fratellis. It doesn’t get anymore summer than these guys.

  5. marshamama says:

    “Sweet Emotion” by Leo Kottke and Mike Gordon. I picture myself floating around in an innertube drinking a cold one after passing it on …. Now THAT is summer.

  6. kelly says:

    “Wake Up” by Arcade Fire.

  7. nick ayres says:

    “typical” by mutemath.

    and speaking of summer, mutemath recently re-recorded the “Transformers” theme song for this upcoming summer release. you can check that out on their myspace page…

  8. MrFares says:

    Thank’s Google pixies, for helping me find this song I heard on the Current. I should have started with “Björkian ululation”
    Regina Spektor’s “Fidelity”

  9. Jim says:

    I am angry that I didn’t get a Fratellis song in first, though I would have picked “Chelsea Dagger.” Anyway, I’ll go with “Australia” by The Shins.

  10. brent says:

    “young folks” –peter bjorn and john

  11. david says:

    Second on Australia… Now I’ll have to go back to the drawing board.

  12. Charley says:

    “First of May” by Jonathan Coulton.

  13. pipelineblog says:

    Well, we are up to 12 songs so far, so I’ll take 7 more from Pipeline People before adding my selection. I want to keep it at 20 songs to keep the download price under $20.

    Just a quick reminder that all of these songs need to be available on iTunes. I haven’t checked that status as of yet, and probably won’t have a chance to do so until tomorrow, when I will post on update on the project. If it turns out anyone needs to repick to fulfill that requirement, I’ll let you know.

    I like what I’m seeing so far for suggestions.

  14. David says:

    Impossible Germany – Wilco

    Charley’s selection will definitely require an ‘explicit content’ sticker, but it’s a great summer song!

  15. Stanton says:

    Guster’s “Satellite.” The sound and lyrics suggest, to me, a summer’s evening, so maybe stick it at the end.

  16. Chris says:

    Bunny Wailer’s, Blackheart Man.

    BTW, the Fratellis are in Minneapolis at the end of July – i cannot wait.

  17. Dave R says:

    Well, since somebody already snagged something off the new Wilco, I’ll throw out “Outfit” by Drive By Truckers.

    It’s country-fried, to be sure, but perfect for late-night at a summer outdoor BBQ much like “Tuesday’s Gone” is.

  18. notchris says:

    Think I’m In Love – Beck (the information album)

    what is summer w/o a summer love?

  19. DaveKingston says:

    Anyone gonna mash up some album art?

    If you prefer your music as high bit rate DRM free mp3 contact me.

  20. kelly says:

    clearly there are people who have yet to chime in on this thread, but if you allow another second track, that is more than dangerously close to slacker rock…. I’d humbly nominate a second track “I’ll believe in anythng” by Wolf Parade

  21. martha says:

    Well, if you still need another entry, I suggest “Summer Skin” by Death Cab for Cutie.

    Or, you could go with “Summertime” by DJ Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince or “Summer Breeze” by Seals & Croft if you are looking for something with a little cheese.

Leave a Reply

