The Pretenders – Tattooed Love Boys – Live In Concert 1981

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. pipelineblog says:

    I grew up with a generally favorable impression of the Pretenders. “Brass In Pocket” blew up right around the time I was in 6th grade, and from then on I found I liked most of the songs, and seemed to understand that the Prentenders were a critical success as well. I’m not sure how I knew that, given I probably didn’t even know what a music critic was. But I knew the Pretenders were not, say, the Knack, or Kajagoogoo. The Pretenders were legit.

    I only heard the singles until after college, when I started buying the records. Unfortunately the original band was short-lived (2 records) due to the drug OD deaths of James Honeyman-Scott and Pete Farndon about 8 months apart. I’ve come to appreciate that as one of the great rock and roll tragedies. Honeyman-Scott’s guitar work and interplay with Chrissy Hynde really gave the Pretenders some punch.

    The other strengths they had were great songs and a great frontwoman in Hynde. She’s got an expressive voice with a lot of range, and she definitely carries her weight on guitar. Plus, she wrote most all of the songs. I think she’s a giant badass, and in general I think she and her band been overlooked a bit by history. Well, that’s actually hard to say, given they are in the Hall of Fame.

    http://www.rockhall.com/inductee/the-pretenders

    Still, it seems like I know very few people who listen to the Pretenders. I think that’s wrong.

    Here they are doing Tattooed Love Boys live in 1981. Honeyman-Scott dies about a year later of cocaine. (Farndon’s was herion.) Hynde regrouped, replaced half her band, (divorced Ray Davies, married Jim Kerr of Simple Minds) and in about a year and a half wrote and recorded Learning to Crawl, which was a small part of the 1984/1985 radio landscape that was actually good, and it sounds better today than ever.

    Very Good Band.

  2. Steve Collins says:

    This is from one of the great albums of all time. Love it! And you are right: Learning to Crawl was another great album. Not as great as this one, though.

Leave a Reply

