Summer Vacation

Boy, it’s been a long time since Pipeline saw any action.  The longer days and warmer weather tend to lessen my overall productivity related to things that don’t happen outside.  The creation of Pipeline, unfortunately, is a domiciled activity.

The pain of this situation, for me, is that as I get outside more I also tend to get more ideas for things to write about.  More ideas and less writing is a frustrating combination, but it’s ultimately freeing.  When I realized even the good ideas weren’t going to inspire me to write, I stopped feeling guilty about it for a few days, figuring eventually I would just write something for the sake of writing something (which you are reading right now), and that would get me going again.  The longest I’ve let that go in the last four years is about 12 or 13 days, and I felt bad about it each time.

Obviously, when a writing drought happens I feel bad for Pipeline People, who I know depend on Pipeline so much for guidance and inspiration as they move down life’s uncertain path.  But mostly I feel bad for me, because I know, out of all the various hobbies and interests that I have, that writing is the one I enjoy the most, that generates the most positive returns for me in terms of enjoyment, connection with people, creativity, blah, blah, blah and so forth.

In fairness to me, though, what am I supposed to do when Pipeline Person BeckyO shows up to the house this weekend with two of those bullshit plastic scoops that you are supposed to use to fling a ball around to each other and catch.  Like those things ever work, ever!  Like I’m running a jai alai court here.  Except the thing is, after about five minutes of practice they actually do work.  In fact, they work really well, provided you have some duct tape handy once they crack.  Linus and I invented like six different games using those things, two of which I expect to be medal sports at the 2016 Olympics in Dubai.

Plus, I had plenty of other things going on, such as:

1.  A cool-ass wedding in Kansas that I’m still planning to write about.

2.  Softball and baseball.

3.  A power line coming down in our backyard, landing a foot away from our neighbor’s pool, and blowing out people’s appliances for blocks around.  It’s a long story that I think has probably only begun with all the insurance and utility company crap, but suffice it to say that refrigerators are a lot nicer today than they were 20 years ago.  Thankfully for you, Pipeline People, the computer survived.  (But the external computer speakers, plugged into the same surge protector and the computer, did not.  I think electricity is weird and it scares the shit out of me.  I understand that circuits are logical and electricity generally behaves in predictable ways, but “generally” does not equal “always”.  If you aren’t scared shitless by electricity, you don’t have your thinking cap on.  Think about it.  Name anything else that’s within 20 miles of you that can kill you by simply touching it.  It’s bad shit, and I don’t want anything more than necessary to do with installing wires, touching fuse boxes, sticking my tongue on car batteries, or anything else that might involve cooking me or stopping my heart instantly.  So fuck electricity.  I’ll be so happy when we go to wind energy!)

4.  Some other stuff I don’t specifically recall, but I know was important, or at least was a less resistant path than writing.

But, bygones.  I’m back from summer vacation and ready to roll, although not at this particular time, as it is quite late.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Summer Vacation

  1. Jeff says:

    How, exactly, are you planning to harness the wind energy to power your appliances?

  2. Mike Berre says:

    Mental note – record thoughts while outside to a small tape recorder. Brilliant!

    Or, the Pipeline intern can follow you around outside and take dictation.

  3. notchris says:

    had a similar electrical event – neighbors aluminum siding got electrified by down powerline and started smoking! crazy as hell.

  4. pipelineblog says:

    See, now I would have thought aluminum couldn’t get electrified. Electricity has it’s own laws, but sometimes it breaks those laws, and therefore it is our enemy.

  5. Clint says:

    Electricity is teh suck! For the past several years I have always had an electricution injuy case on my docket. Ususually there are multiple cases. Right now I have two. Both involve guys who (allegedly) swing a big ass boom from concrete pumper truck into power lines. The most recent one invoved the main supply line for downtown El Paso. 69,000 volts. Not only did El Paso lose power for four hours in the middle of the day on a work day, the poor (and pour) guy holding the rubber hose at the end of the boom was flash fried. POOF! Burst into flames. I had one a couple years ago where a guy had his legs blown off, literally, when the electricity exited his body.

  6. pipelineblog says:

    I heard a story about a guy here where I work who was doing electrical work while wearing leather kneepads on a concrete floor. He touched the wrong wire in the box with his screwdriver, and it literally blew his kneecaps off.

    I need to write a more extensive post about what happened; basically, a neutral line came down in our yard and the neighbor’s yard. Although not the main power line, when the neutral hit the ground it completed the circuit and caused the surge. It landed about a foot away from our neighbor’s pool. The electrician who came out to look at our stuff said if that had hit the pool, half of St. Paul’s grid would have gone down…not to mention anyone swimming in the pool at the time.

  7. blaze says:

    welcome back. I like the linus action shot on the slip and slide.

Leave a Reply

