Doppelgangers

I work with several doppelgangers.  They don’t know they are doppelgangers, but they are.  Well, some of them might know, like Little Peja.  Little Peja is a guy I see in the cafeteria who looks exactly like NBA “star” Peja Stojakovic, only about a foot shorter than the real Peja and probably tougher.  I’m guessing Little Peja is by now very familiar with hearing about Peja Stojakovic.

There’s a woman at work who looks quite like my mother-in-law, Bonnie.  Hence, the woman I work with is Corporate Bonnie.  Corporate Bonnie doesn’t know that sometimes her name is Corporate Bonnie, but that doesn’t change the fact that sometimes her name is Corporate Bonnie.  There’s nothing Corporate Bonnie or Corporate Melissa can do about it.

Oh, Corporate Melissa is the doppelganger of my friend Jim’s wife, only about 10 years older than Melissa is now, but with the glasses Melissa wore 10 ago.  All of which is confusing to me, but that’s not Corporate Melissa’s problem.

My problem is if I ever have to do anything officially with any of these people, it’s going to be very difficult to not think of them with the original names I made up for them.  Even worse is that I have ascribed some of the characteristics of the real Bonnie and Melissa to their corporate facsimilies.  Corporate Bonnie will bring wonderful cookies to our meeting and is wonderful with children.  Corporate Melissa likes to prepare several course meals and run marathons, and once crawled into bed with me by mistake after a New Year’s at the Half Time Rec.  They don’t know this is how they are sometimes perceived, but that doesn’t change the fact that this is how they are sometimes perceived.

I have my fingers crossed that if I finally do meet them, their names will actually be Bonnie and Melissa, though with my luck the names would probably be reversed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doppelgangers

  1. notchris says:

    outstanding post! you beat scott adams to one of my favorite parts of large workplaces.

    imagining the lives of others is endless fun. couldn’t stand being airports w/o it.

  2. Jeff says:

    I work down the aisle from a woman who looks like Sarah Jordan. She has the same demeanor, too.

  3. martha says:

    man, i haven’t thought about the Half Time Rec in years. I loved that place! I’m going to be in the Twin Cities this weekend, so I may have to add it to my nostalgia tour.

  4. mrfares says:

    I don’t have any friend dopplegangers at my work. Internally there is a “Dick” and “The other guy who is not Dick so don’t call out to him in the Skyway.”

Leave a Reply

