This Is How I Feel About Duke

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to

  1. brent says:

    That was excellent. It’s inspired me to change all my brackets–Virginia Commonwealth is going to run the Blue Devils tomorrow.

    My hate for Duke will be of legal drinking age later this month. The 1986 Kansas Jayhawks (Danny Manning, Ron Kellogg, Greg Dreiling, Calvin Thompson, and Cedric Hunter) were 35-4 with two losses to the Dukies–the pre-season NIT and the NCAA semis.

  2. Steim says:

    “You even suck at rape.” I can’t help it…that’s fuckin hilarious.

  3. David says:

    I’m guessing I shouldn’t watch this at work…

  4. martha says:

    hilarious

  5. Collins says:

    Oh, this is classic. I’m going to have to forward this to my UNC homies. And they sucked tonight! Hooray!

    Brent, who was the guy on that 86 KU team that blew his knee out in the sems and was never the same?

  6. brent says:

    archie marshall. he missed the entire 86-87 season, then was a co-captiain with danny manning in 88.

  7. pipelineblog says:

    He got on the floor one final time at the end of a blowout, in a full knee brace. He took a long, unguarded 3; can’t remember if he made it.

  8. brent says:

    i just went back and read about archie marshall again. he blew out his knee in 86 (season-ending & rehab for the 86-87 season). he came back and started for 11 games in the 88 season, then blew out the same knee again (career ending) in a mid-December game. on senior night against Oklahoma State, he came into the game and shot the three that Doug is talking about (it missed).

  9. pipelineblog says:

    We might be getting into some serious KU basketball minutae here, but you should go back and read about the kid from Shawnee Mission Northwest who had a scholarship locked up to KU around 1988 or 1989 but then lost his foot while trying to catch a running train. I think his name was Chris Lynley, or something like that. Tragic story about the stupidity of youth.

    Next we’ll be throwing around Pekka Markkanen jokes.

    The last eight minutes of their game yesterday was the first I’ve seen of KU. I have to say, they look damn good and fun to watch. Scary good.

  10. brent says:

    at this point i’m pretty sure it’s just the two of us reading the ku stuff here.

    Chris Lindley was the guy’s name; he went to Raytown South. He died last month from complications arising from an abnormally enlarged heart–he was 34. He worked in social services in Lawrence–with the Boys and Girls Club and later with a group that matched up people who needed in-home health care with live-in providers. Google Chris Lindley + KU to get a run down on him.

  11. pipelineblog says:

    Nah, I guarantee some other jackass is reading this comment right…now.

    Thanks for setting us straight on the Chris Lindley situation. Hard to believe his story got even sadder. Sounds like he did some nice stuff after his basketball career ended.

  12. Charley says:

    I remember going to see Lindley play in high school. He was the same year as Jevon Crudup, who made a much better choice in life by playing for Missouri and keeping both feet. That Ray South team dominated everyone in the metro area. I remember standing next to those guys as the first time I really “got it” about the difference between typical high school basketball players and guys who can play at D-I colleges. Sucks that Lindley died. I think I remember that KU still offered him a full-ride for 4 years.

  13. brent says:

    Clearly, Missouri is a far better basketball program than the University of Kansas. All evidence points to that.

    Roy Williams did stick with the committment to the scholarship, and he got a four-year degree from KU in social work (I think).

  14. Collins says:

    Thanks, Brent, for reminding me of Archie Marshall. I remember listening to that game on the radio as my family and I were driving back from looking at California colleges. I think we were in eastern Utah during that game and the Louisville game before it. This was before I hated KU, so I had some sympathy for Mr. Marshall. Of course, I have sympathy for anyone who blows out a knee, but a KU guy only helps my cause. That being said, I think they are going to win it all this year. I hope I haven’t jinxed them.

Leave a Reply

