Reggae Plan

I know jack shit about raggae, but I know I like a lot of it from listening to Radio K’s outstanding raggae and ska show, Rude Radio.  What I like tends to be old stuff, and I know there are very specific names for some of the genres, but I’m totally ignorant of nearly all of them.

One of Pandora’s strengths is as a teaching tool.  For example, I was curious about the current state of metal after reading some reviews of an upcoming Mastodon show, so I created a Pandora station with some of the bands that were purportedly “bringing metal back”, like The Sword, Priestess, Early Man, and Wolfmother.  Within a half hour I had a very good idea of what was going on with metal.

For the raggae station I started with Bob Marley and Toots and the Maytals as my inputs, and I’m just seeing where that leads me.  One thing will lead to another, and if I keep listening and rating, I’ll have a real good idea of what I like and what I don’t.  There is a rich history and large catalogue of music to discover, which is kind of nice for those times when I feel like I’m just not hearing anything new.

That said, I’m only going to capture a few genres with my inputs of Marley and Toots and the Maytals.  Any other suggestions from Pipeline People?  I prefer things from the 60’s and 70’s, but will input anything for awhile and see what comes up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reggae Plan

  1. Dbeimers says:

    I’ve always been big on Gregory Isaacs. Most people think Night Nurse is his best album (certainly the title track is his most popular song; very melodic, good for the ladies), but I’ve always felt Soon Forward (circa 1979, so it meets your criteria) is his best work. I’m sure you’ve heard Isaacs on Rude Radio at some point.

  2. You must run, not walk, to buy the soundtrack to the movie Rockers. here is an Amazon link to it. Also check out Bunny Wailers solo stuff like Black Heart Man, and some earlier Burning Spear. None of that is really “deep”, but it will get you a step beyond Bob Marley and Toots (and don’t underestimate both of them are — Toots generally only gets exposure these days with one of his albums, but most of his first few albums had lots of great stuff on them).

  3. Collins says:

    Check out Black Uhuru, particularly the album Red.

  4. Sean says:

    I know next to nothing about reggae, but I can enthusiastically recommend Desmond Dekker and Derrick Harriott. Or maybe they’re ska – I dunno. Good stuff, though.

  5. Scotch says:

    I’d fire up some 10cc and Matsiyahu.

Leave a Reply

