Steve Is Not Dead

Both of our kids grew up (or are growing up) watching Blue’s Clues. If you’ve never seen it, you probably don’t have kids. Generally speaking, it’s pretty good TV for the youngins. The “host”, if you will, was a guy named Steve. Steve always wore the same green-striped shirt, but what he lacked in wardrobe variety he made up for with an earnest and easy-going manner that was perfect for the show’s audience.

Steve left the show in 2002, and I had always heard it was because he had been busted for marijuana possession. I can’t tell you exactly where I heard that. Maybe my dealer told me, or maybe I heard it at a D.A.R.E. rally. I always knew it was probably an urban myth, but as it turns out it wasn’t. The actual urban myth was that Steve had died of a heroin overdose. So I had created an urban myth of my own, which I suppose makes it sort of a personal myth.

In reality, Steve left the show because he didn’t want kids to know he was going bald. At least that’s what Wikipedia says. And, he wanted to pursue a recording career, and to date has produced some critically-acclaimed work. You might have heard his hit single, “We Gotta Find Another Paw Print”.

Steve was replaced by Joe, who is played by a cousin of General George S. Patton. And that’s not an urban myth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steve Is Not Dead

  1. Jim says:

    Fuck Joe. I like Steve.

  2. Scotch says:

    I’ve always found a little Nubian relaxes me too.

Leave a Reply

