Pipeline People Mix 1.0

Pipeline People, your creation is ready. I have published it as an iMix on iTunes, and it should be available in an hour or two. Just look for “Pipeline People Mix 1.0”. There are 18 songs in all, the last one provided offline by Jane: “The Yeah, Yeah, Yeah Song” by the Flaming Lips.

I took the liberty (necessity, really) of sequencing the mix. I have listened to all of the songs, though not yet all the way through as a whole. Only time will tell if this mix has staying power with any given listener, but I think it’s worth your while to go check it out. If you don’t have access to iTunes, let me know via comment below and I’ll work something out with you to get a hard copy, although since we did exceed the 60 (and 80) minute limit I wouldn’t be able to fit the entire mix on one CD. But, I have an ingenius plan to sidestep that issue by removing some songs.

The mix looks like this:

  1. “The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song”, by the Flaming Lips
  2. “Personal Jesus”, by Johnny Cash
  3. “Gray”, by the Heartless Bastards
  4. “Guns of Brixton”, by the Clash
  5. “Quizas, Quizas, Quizas”, by Nat King Cole
  6. “Joker & the Thief”, by Wolfmother
  7. “Same Kooks”, by the Hold Steady
  8. “Barricades and Brickwalls”, by Kasey Chambers
  9. “One of These Days”, by the Doves
  10. “10001110101″, by Clutch
  11. “The Death of Country Music”, by the Waco Brothers
  12. “Chumpy”, by The Clean
  13. “Everything Is Under Control”, by Coldcut
  14. “Hours”, by TV On the Radio
  15. “Rollerskate Skinny”, by Old 97’s
  16. “Alright” by Supergrass
  17. “A Really Good Time”, by Roxy Music
  18. “Thinking of a Dream I Had”, by the Walkmen

This has been a blast to put together, one of the best things we’ve done with Pipeline. The last couple of days has been one of those times when I sometimes stopped and thought about the age we live in, where we can form a community out of thin air, decide to make a mix tape for the hell of it, have the songs magically appear, and then make it all available in a matter of minutes. It costs 99 cents a song to make the magic happen, but that seems a reasonable tradeoff.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pipeline People Mix 1.0

  1. Forgive my ignorance, but where do we find it?

  2. pipelineblog says:

    Great question. When I submitted it, it said it would publish to iTunes “soon”, and that I would receive an email when it was ready to view. Thus far, no email. I’ve searched for “iMix”, looked in help, etc., but the only way I can see to find an iMix is via the search tool, and so far that hasn’t yielded results.

    Has anybody ever found or looked at an iMix on iTunes before, and if so, how did you do it? It could be that it just hasn’t published yet, and once it does searching for “Pipeline People” will yield results. But right now I’m not sure what’s up.

  3. kelly says:

    That link you sent automagically pops open the iTunes store at the appropriate mix. Its up now, just accessed and listening.

  4. kelly says:

    Well, you only get snippits without laying out $18….. I’m still looking for my Credit Card. Never downloaded a mix, will it create a playlist for me?

    On another note, I heard there was going to be a Pipeline People Mix party sometime in May…. is there any truth to this rumor?

  5. Hey, now! It’s only $17.82, and less if you happen to have any of the songs already. I do believe it will create a playlist for you, though I’ve also never downloaded an iMix.

    Pipeline People Mix party in May? I love the idea, but cannot confirm or deny any rumors at this time.

    But I like that you can hear snippets before you buy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s