Beer of Choice

 I have a new beer of choice: Blue Moon.  My previous beer of choice was Summit Pale, and I did experience some dissonance upon realizing that Summit was out, and Blue Moon was in.  Which is not to say that I won’t drink a Summit at any time, because I certainly will.  In fact, due to circumstances beyond my control, my refrigerator is now full of a variety of Summit beers and no Blue Moon.  To make that right I’m going to have to drink all that Summit and then make a trip to my local liquor store.

The dissonance happened because Summit was one of the first things I learned about the Twin Cities.  In fact, not 10 minutes after my friend Jim and I first arrived in the Twin Cities, his girlfriend and future wife Melissa made sure we had cold Summits in hand.  The idea of a beer that wasn’t brewed by Miller, Coors or Budweiser was somewhat foreign to me at the time,  as that was 1991 and the microbrew revolution hadn’t taken hold in Emporia, KS.

After I moved to the Cities, more Summits followed.  Many more Summits.  The beer came to be a sort of symbol of my transition from there to here.  (And in a pinch, a Leinenkugel’s or Grain Belt would also suffice.)  But today, 15 years later, I think Blue Moon is better.

Or, considering Blue Moon is owned by Coors, maybe I’m just going full circle back to my Kansas roots.

Blue Moon

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Beer of Choice

  1. brent says:

    orange peel and corriander. i’m a bit surprised by your beer of choice. is there any other food or beverage item containing orange peel or corriander that you enjoy? it all seems very un-doug-like.

  2. pipelineblog says:

    Well, off the top of my head I can’t think of anything, though I know orange peels are an ingredient in A-1 sauce, which I enjoy on lesser cuts of beef.

    And, I do have to say that my reputation for lacking a sense of gastronomic adventure is somewhat exaggerated compared to my true eating habits today. I’m certainly not the most worldly eater around, but I’m also no longer exclusively a meatatarian.

  3. I vividly remember a time when white rice was exotic in Doug’s world.

  4. dbeimers says:

    Please send your unwanted Summit to Cleveland.

  5. Jim says:

    I’m not all that crazy about Blue Moon. It’s flavor is fleeting, gimmicky. Don’t get me wrong, it’s OK. But Summit Pale is better. In any case, none of them are Shakespeare Stout or Arrogant Bastard.

  6. In the context of time, it may be that I find Blue Moon to be a passing fad. But I’ve been drinking Summit for a solid 15 years now, feel fully qualified to evaluate it’s relative charms, and am ready for a change.

  7. Mike Berre says:

    Sierra Nevada Celebration Ale. Seasonal. Run, don’t walk.

  8. mrfares says:

    I told Renee about your having a refrigerator of Summit you wanted to get rid of and when I looked up she was gone. Can you check your kitchen for me?

  9. martha says:

    Sigh. I miss Summit. Another one to add yummy seasonals: Deschutes Brewery’s Jubelale.

  10. Collins says:

    Blue Moon? Bullshit! Pabst Blue Ribbon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

