The Black Keys

I saw the Black Keys last night at First Avenue with Pipeline People Brad T and Chris C.  It was a great show from the perspective of a fan, but a discouraging one from the standpoint of a novice guitar player.  Of course, nearly any show is going to have that effect, but some more than others, and last night was certainly one of those.  It turns out that most good musicians don’t stick to open chords.  Go figure.

I love to see shows at First Avenue, and now that Minneapolis is smoke-free you can actually see the stage and not have to wash your clothes twice to get the smell out when you get home.  I don’t particularly mind going into a smoky club, even though I’m not a smoker, but it does make for a more pleasant night.

It’s difficult at times to not feel old when I go to shows now, but I just accept it.  I’m 37, and that’s how it is.  But being older, and going to fewer shows than I used to, there are things I notice that signal time has passed.  The biggest thing I notice now is how ubiquitous cell phones are during the show.  At any point in time I could scan the crowd and see a dozen phones opened up to snap photos.  I did the same, and if I had the proper cables to get the pics from my phone to the computer, you’d be seeing them right now.

In any event, the Black Keys were outstanding and I highly recommend you see them if you get the chance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Black Keys

  1. Sean says:

    My friend Bill went to that show, too, and was also very impressed. They were here a few weeks ago, and actually mentioned it to Kim, but unfortunately my sister and brother-in-law were in town and we ended up going to see Jay Farrar’s side band instead because it was a little cheaper and none of us had really heard much Black Keys. Should’ve gone to the Black Keys, because Farrar was good but the other guy in the band sucked and we left early.

  2. I had to remove the Black Keys from my primary Pandora station because it caused lots of random, crappy “blues” to be played. That’s one big weakness of Pandora in my mind — sure, Black Keys are “blues” in most senses, but they sound quite different from your run of the mill modern “blues”.

Leave a Reply

